In many countries eighteen is considered the right age to start driving a car. However, some people say that the legal driving age should be twenty five. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Driving is a necessary skill for it makes transportation from one place to another convenient. Many believe that driving ability should be acquired just when adulthood is attained; while others are of the view it should be done in mid 20s after getting 25. I personally believe that 18 years age is the right age to learn driving as by 25 it would be too late.

By the age of 18, the requirements of a student who has begun graduate life undergo dramatic change requiring the ability to drive as a necessity. Most of the students who begin graduation require the ability to drive as the college and university are usually far from the city and the campuses are huge rendering walking inside impractical because of the huge time it unnecessarily kills. Moreover, many students also begin part time jobs which require them to work at odd hours where there may not be facility of public transport afterwards. Additionally, Student life has lesser stress and the curiosity is higher which will definitely help a youngster to pick up driving much faster than at 25. It would also reduce burden on parents as well who otherwise have to make a lot of adjustments to facilitate transportation for their kids.

On the contrary, the mid 20s is the time to work the hardest for which an individual should be fully armed with no limitations whatsoever. If someone starts learning driving by 25 then he/she would have a very mature brain that would learn with complete sincerity and caution. Their decision making power would be stronger as well because they would be working at this age.Apart from this, they would not exhibit risky behavior at this age since they are working responsibly and are no more college undergrads who have the tendency to be imprudent. But despite the maturity, learning to drive at 25 is too late since it would be an impediment towards timely independence obligatory for a successful professional life.

In conclusion, it may appear at first that at 25 an individual would be at the ripe mental maturity but the drawbacks of learning to drive so late are overshadowed by the advantages accruing from timely learning at 18 where the mind is more inquisitive and instinctive to acquire new skills.