In many countries, international tourism has become an important source of income. However,it has also negative effects.Do the benefits of international tourism outweigh the disadvantages?

Most countries depend on tourism as one of their main resort of national income. In this essay, I will explain why the advantages of international tourism will overshadow the potential drawbacks.

On the one hand, an enormous number of international travellers visiting a country might have some disadvantages. Firstly, there is the possibility of change in the local culture. In fact, having a new culture is interesting, but only some of it is appropriate for local customs. To illustrate, in Bali, there are vast numbers of tourists from all over the world, and most of them wear bikinis on the beach. Meanwhile, in Bali communities’ tradition, individuals, particularly women, must wear clothes covering their bodies. Therefore, local customs are probably replaced by the Western lifestyle. Secondly, a massive number of global travellers could increase the population density of the states. This means traffic congestion, public transportation, and facilities overcapacity may occur. As a result, the citizens are most likely to have a hindrance to going to work or school and even enjoying tourist attractions.

On the other hand, despite the challenge, I would argue that relying on international tourism as a significant national income can pose a benefit. Firstly, it can increase employment opportunities. For instance, many resorts, tourist attractions, and eateries should be opened to meet the demands of the tourists. With the large number of businesses that started, more people will be able to have jobs. Consequently, the community welfare will grow. Furthermore, the government will provide suitable public transportation to support the mobility of the global traveller. Locals can also use these facilities to make their way to work or school more efficient. For that reason, the quality of life for citizens can be improved.

In conclusion, while world tourism can degrade the traditional value of the states and the population density, it will decrease unemployment and escalate the community’s well-being. Therefore, on balance, I am firmly convinced that the merits are eclipsed by the demerits.