In many countries, mainly tourists, but not local people, visit museums and historical sites. Why does this happen, and what can be done to attract more local people to visit these places?

Museums are the places that maintain the historical heritage of the country, but it is regretting that these places are visited by tourists mostly, not by locals. This essay will explore the reasons of this issue, and will provide some solutions.

The first reason is, museums and historical spots exhibit especially a tradition and a historical lifestyle of the country which is already known to local residents, on this occasion they do not go there a lot. In contrast, for the visitors of other countries museums are the best spots to expand their knowledge about the host country. In order to gain locals’ attention, the way of a presentation in these places have to be changed. More developed and complicated technological equipments should be implemented while showing the museums’ properties and historical sightseeings’ wealth. For instance, with the help of 3D modelling the pictures and the past time life can be made more vibrant and interesting.

The second reason is, local inhabitants tend to think that they do not move away anywhere, and they may visit anytime they want, so they never go to museums and to the sightseeings, as well. But tourists come with the intention of seeing these areas especially. So as to expand local dwellers’ tour to museums propaganda works can be fulfilled at schools and working places. Dwellers should be aware of the value of museums and they should estimate highly the heritage of the country.

In conclusion, many reasons can be given as to why local people lose their enthusiasm for museums, but the solutions are in the hands of knowledgable individuals.