In many countries nowadays, consumers can go to a supermarket and buy food produced all over the world. Do you think this is a positive or negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Today, many citizens of different countries have the ability to buy their favorite products, from all over the world, in a supermarket or mall. Although it may have several disadvantages for the local businesses, in my opinion, it is a positive change, and allow people to have various options while making a purchase.

Opponents of globalization and the availability of products from foreign regions in a town mention the potential dangers and devastating effects on local businesses. They argue that big companies with higher sales and more profits appetite demolish the sales of local brands who sell products only to nearby residents. Additionally, the abundance of options can lead to confusion in choice when shopping, leading to wasting huge amount time and picking items that are unnecessary.

However, I believe globalization can help people find their preferred products when local farmers or businesses lack the skill or conditions to cultivate or manufacture that item. As a result, it broadens individuals options to opt for different vegetables, fruits, protein sources, and carbs. For example, in developing countries like Iran, hardly do people taste blueberries or wild mangos because of several economical and import hardships while in countries like the US, citizens can add rare foods to their diet.

In conclusion, while the presence of all items from different states or countries in a one-stop shop can be detrimental for local retailers, I think the ability to purchase anything can help the diversity of residents’ diet and provide them with various nutrition.