In many countries nowadays, young single people no longer stay with their parents until they are married, but leave to study or work somewhere else. Do you think this trend has more advantages or disadvantages?

In today’s rapidly evolving world, young single people increasingly prefer living far from their parents to study or work and when they get married in many countries. While this tendency may weaken people’s relationships, it can provide excellent opportunities for young people to develop their essential life skills. Therefore, the advantages of this trend can outweigh the drawbacks.

One of the main advantages of living far from parents is that it enables individuals to develop their essential skills independently, making them more resilient, confident, and independent, resulting in fostering personal and professional development. In addition, through these years, young people are equipped with real-life experience, which contributes significantly to broadening their horizons while improving their critical thinking, problem-solving, and decision-making. For instance, students who immigrate to other countries to study often gain valuable experiences, develop a better understanding of various cultures, promote their creativity, and become more responsible compared with students who study in their hometown. Ultimately, they achieve substantial personal and professional development. Hence, this approach can act as a catalyst for young people to gain valuable experiences and develop their cognitive skills.

However, living far from parents may create serious problems, including weakened family bonds and unnecessary financial problems, because young people when study in abroad have a limited opportunities to communicate face-to-face with their families, exerting emotional pressure on their lives. Moreover, the costs of living can place additional burden and increase the stress of life because they should spend money more responsibly, which leaves them with limited budget to participate in engaging outdoor activities. For example, students who study abroad often face emotional challenges such as stress and depression because when they entrance to new countries, they find it difficult to make new friends and socialise with others, resulting in a strong sense of loneliness and excessive emotional pressures. Thus, living far from parents can result in emotional and financial challenges which make life difficult for young people.

To sum up, although living far from parents may lead to economic hardship, poor family ties, and emotional issues, from my perspective, it can be a unique opportunity for young people to deepen their understanding of various cultures while improving their essential skills such as critical thinking and communication. Therefore, the benefits of this approach can outweigh the disadvantages.