In many countries, people are spending more hours at their workplace. Why is that? Is that a negative and positive development?

In this day and age, citizens in different nations tend to prolong their working time and spend less time on family and other activities. This essay attempts to shed light on the driving factors before concluding that this is indeed a negative development.

There are a host of compelling reasons as to why nowadays, in many countries, people spend extended hours at their workplace. One rationale is that it can enable them to earn more money. Given the desire for gaining a fortune to do whatever they want, workers have a tendency to work for longer hours without reservation. Another justification is that employers often encourage employees to work overnight. This perception could be reinforced by the fact that many companies are facing a shortage of staff so they motivate or even force the labor to work as twice as citizens do, thereby maintaining the productivity and the input of industries.

Protracting working time could be fraught with pitfalls to some extent. First and foremost, this trend might have a severe effect on human well-being. To perfectly exemplify, those who overwork would run the risk of being infected with mental fatigue, such as stress, depression, and lack of sleep. Moreover, they might suffer from serious health issues, including obesity and loss of eyesight, because they have little time to do outdoor activities and stare continuously at the computer screen. Furthermore, spending more hours at work could be one of the major causes of family problems. This is because it would deprive workers of quality family time, which might deteriorate family ties and widen the emotional gap as members of family do not have time to talk and play with each other. As a result, in the absence of close family bonds, misunderstandings, conflicts between family members, and even divorce are inevitable.

In conclusion, there are some underlying motives behind overworking and I would contend that this tendency could have a bad bearing on each individual and society.