In many countries people have to pay for medical care, but some think that it should be a free service provided by the government. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words.

Medical treatment is mostly paid around the world, but some people think that the governments must provide this service free of cost. I agree with this statement because this will result in a healthy nation and allow the public to contribute to the development of the country.

It is often seen that the medical care is getting more and more expensive and people have to pay heavily for their treatment. They have to put much of their wealth for the treatment of their loved ones. Sometimes poor people are not able to afford their medication, which results in permanent disability or death; and if such a person arranges enough budget, it will result in shortage of funds for other daily life facilities. Therefore, they will not be able to improve the economy of the country. For example, many African people are dying of common diseases that can be cured because they don’t have enough budget to get a proper medical treatment.

On the other hand, governments can play a huge role in providing medication to their public free of cost, which can result in a healthy population and they can play an important role to the development of the country. Healthy nations are growing rapidly because they get enough time and money to invest in various sectors. It means a boost in their economy because they are able to work extensively. For example, many developed nations have proper infrastructure for healthcare providing medication free of cost to the people. That is why, these countries are getting more financial benefits.

In conclusion, I think it is better for governments to contribute to the healthcare system, because healthy people will be able to work more efficiently which will result in economic growth.