In many countries, people now wear western-style dresses such as suits and jeans rather than traditional clothing. Why is this? Is this a positive or negative development?

Today it has become increasingly common for many people to wear western clothes like suits and jeans, instead of their traditional clothes. While this trend pose some challenges, I believe that it has more good than harm.

From a pessimistic perspective, there are several drawbacks of dressing the same in some regards. If people begin to wear similar clothes, they are likely to lose their cultural heritage, thereby decreasing local uniqueness and increasing cultural homogenization in turn. Uzbek atlas, for example, represents the national pride, that is being passed by ancestors. Younger generation can create modern clothing and outfits with combination of ‘atlas’, though.

However, in my view, the advantage of wearing American or European clothes are greater in so many ways. Firstly, they can give convenience and practicality. When people wear western outfits (jeans, T-shirts and suits), they tend to feel like they are not only comfortable, but also easy to wear daily. Apart from that, they are suitable for work, study and even travel, while the traditional ones are a bit heavy, expensive and not appropriate for casual wearing.

In conclusion, although wearing western clothes more leads to some problems, it seems to me that, it does more good than harm, such as their convenience, suitability and so on. It would be better if people had combined a piece of their national clothing to their modern outfits.