In many countries, plastic containers have become more common than ever and are used by many food and drink companies. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

These days, the usage of plastic containers is increasing day by day as organizations across the globe rely on them for packaging and transportation purposes. While this trend has sparked debates, I postulate that the merits of plastic outweigh its relative demerits.

On one hand, the environmental cost of disposable plastic is substantial. This non-biodegradable material contaminates our air and soil, leading to widespread pollution that interferes with the metabolism of animals. As a result, they become susceptible to various health issues and eventually fall into a vicious cycle of annihilation. A study conducted by the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) revealed that more than 70% of asthma, respiratory illnesses, and other animal diseases diagnosed in 2020 were directly linked to harmful chemicals released from burned plastic. Moreover, the containers often end up in landfills or oceans, forming massive patches that are injurious to marine life.

On the other hand, despite the concomitant downsides, there are several benefits of using plastic as it makes our lives easier with cheaper products and faster packaging. By resorting to plastic, a low-cost input, companies lower their production costs, which has a positive effect on the overall retail price and consumer affordability. Additionally, plastic has unparalleled efficiency in terms of packaging and transporting products. Its malleable nature allows companies to use it flexibly whether it is for wrapping or shipping. For instance, during the quarantine period of the COVID-19 pandemic, both buyers and sellers required fast and safe handling of food and other emergency items: a task that would have been impossible without the involvement of plastic.

In conclusion, while plastic hampers the environment to some extent, it is extremely essential from consumer and producer perspectives. Therefore, I firmly believe that the advantages are more remarkable than the drawbacks. However, it is crucial to explore innovations to make plastics more environmentally friendly.