In many countries, public transport systems are underdeveloped and unreliable. What problems does this cause, and what improvements can be made?

Nowadays, poorly developed and unpredictable public transit systems exist in many nations. This essay attempts to clarify the problems which have resulted from this phenomenon before outlining several viable solutions that should be adopted to tackle them.

There are two main problems stemming from inadequate and erratic mass transit. One significant consequence is that it causes heavier traffic congestion. This is because the poorer the public transportation is, the less people are willing to use it. Instead, they would rather use their private transport, which contributes to the significant rise in traffic volume. As a result, this has an adverse bearing on productivity and the economy. Another concern is the negative impact on the environment. To illustrate, as many automobiles are on the streets, a surge in consumption of fossil fuel occurs, which gives rise to severe air pollution, contributing to global climate change and environmental issues, especially in metropolitan areas.

To combat these worrying issues, the following essential steps should be taken. Firstly, state officials should invest in infrastructure. For instance, if the bus networks are upgraded, the residents prefer using it rather than their private vehicles which would lead to a reduction in gridlocks and pollution problems. Secondly, public transit should be given discounts or subsidies by governments. As public transport becomes more affordable, a wide number of people can use it regularly which allows workers to save money on daily commuting and travel more conveniently. Hence, this enhances productivity and financial stability, which can ultimately contribute to economic growth.

In conclusion, there are some serious repercussions attributable to this negative tendency, and it is crucial that the aforementioned measures be implemented to deal with these issues.