Many people believe that the government of a country should pay for health care and education of its citizens. To what extend do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give your opinion.

Regarding the issue whether the government should pay for people’s health and education, there has emerged an intense debate. To my way of thinking, I agree the government should do this.

Initially, it is paramount that it is the government’s duty and obligation to provide health care and education for citizens. This is because most of the government’s revenue comes from taxpayers, so the authority should reward citizens via improving the free medical and educational conditions to increase people’s sense of happiness. Therefore, it is a significant thing for the government to pay for people’s medical and education.

Furthermore, government providing free basic medical and educational resources serves an essential function in narrowing the gap between the rich and the poor. If the healthcare and educational resources is fully marketized, these resources will tend to favor high-income group. Conversely, those in a lower socioeconomic situation will lose their accessibility to such resources. As a result, the gap between the wealthy and the poor will be further enlarged. This may lead to social instability. Therefore, I believe that it is of great necessity for the government to provide well-rounded basic medical and educational system to support the people in a lower socioeconomic class.

This is not to say that other fields are not as important as education and healthcare. For example, national deference and security is also crucial for the stability of a country. Money also should be distributed to such areas to ensure the country will not be externally invaded. However, from my perspective, the internal stability is far more important because as an old saying said “The easiest way to capture a fortress is from within”. Therefore, I believe that the government should distribute money, even more money, into the domestic welfare system, such as education and healthcare, to ensure the internal stability.

To conclude, although there are other areas that need the government to allocate money to, I believe that educational and medical fields are in priority. And government should spend money in such fields to make sure that people’s requirement of a good living could be meet and close the gap between the rich and the poor to sure social stability.