In many countries, remote working and online learning have become increasingly popular. Some people believe this trend brings many benefits, while others argue that it creates more problems than advantages. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

All around the globe, more and more people have selected telecommuting as replacement for working from an office, which has sparked a plethora of perspectives. While some people and I believe that this phenomenon’s advantages outweigh its disadvantages, others have an opposing point of view.

On one hand, the chief advantage pertinent to this change in work culture is the lessening of traffic congestion. In other words, when more workers start working from home, they will not need to drive to work every day, which in turn will decrease noise pollution and avoid scaring wild animals. For instance, as per a study conducted in Australia during the Corona Virus pandemic, the streets were much calmer in night hours. As a result, many citizens and animals in civic areas boasted a better quality of sleep. Therefore, working from home can offer a less stressful environment for both humans and animals.

On the other hand, this trend could strip companies and corporations from an imperative asset, relationships between co-workers. This is because as employees will rarely meet face to face with each other to foster connections. Consequently, senior professionals lose several opportunities to mentor younger ones and impart their knowledge, which can result in lower social cohesion in the workplace and a disturbance in a team’s performance. This is best exemplified by a research that took place in Egypt, which revealed that co-workers who have not developed friendships with their colleagues often showed more antagonistic behaviour towards others and achieved tasks less effectively. What can be said is that working from home has a detrimental effect on team collabration and efficiency in the workplace.

In conclusion, after this essay has illustrated the merits of both opinions, it can be reiterated that many people and I espouse the view that working from home does more good than harm. Nevertheless, despite its benign effects on nature, others disagree with this opinion.