In some countries, the government promotes public transport as the primary means of transportation and discourages private car ownership. Do you think the advantages of this policy outweigh the disadvantages?

It is believed that the governments should improbe the public transports’ situation instead of building new roads for those who have their own car. In my point of view, advantages, in this case, clearly outweigh the disadvantages, mostly because of its rationaliztion.

Many people think, if you have your car to ride, nothing is impossible, you can just drive wherever you want; but traffic jams will get them. Usually traffic jams are created by the owners of the car rather than the public transports such as buses, metros. So, instead of bying cars, you should do something to prevent jams, not create or even worsen them. For example, New Zealand’s president decided to make a new law that stricts a long rides – either you ride for several hours, or you get a big fine. And thhe result is crazy – traffic jam problem has been solved immediately, the number of car crashes has dropped, and even the roads have been cleaner.

And the government, unluckily, does not think that public transportation is a big deal, that is why they are trying to build a new routes, bridges – anything, but solving the real problem by the only solution. These people are trying to keep private things as they are, but it keeps worsening the issue. In this case, they have only one choice – be like a New Zealand, because in any other way the situation may get out of the control, which will definetly end up in some massive way.

In the conclusion, i would like to say: people nowadays try to keep their things, but letting them go just for the environment is the key for solving the real problems out there.