In some countries, the government promotes public transport as the primary means of transportation and discourages private car ownership. Do you think the advantages of this policy outweigh the disadvantages?

In some nations, the government makes public transport as the main source of transportation, while deterring the ownership of private vehicles. This essay will present the benefits and drawbacks of this trend.

Developing the use of public transport might provide an equality between different social groups. According to the conventional belief, having a car is associated with success and sufficiency, meaning that now many people strive to own one; consequently, some of them even get into big debts pursuing this dream. As a result, it causes a big gap between wealthy and marginal groups in the society. Moreover, encouraging to use public vehicles could reduce traffic congestion, specifically during rush hours. Frequently, it stems from car and buses being in the same lane and the high numbers of private cars. Finally, this change could help in lowering the levels of carbon dioxide produced by various vehicles. For example, New Zealand’s authorities introduced a new policy, which states that every household have to own only one car, which can be used only for commuting to work, resulting in 15% decrease in carbon footprint rate over five years.

On the other hand, implementing this regulation may bring inconvenience for residents occasionally. This is because public transport systems have certain destinations, often it does not provide a whole ride towards precise location like cars do. Apart from that, it can lead to fatigue, stress, and burnout within individuals, as it is not always pleasant experience to travel longer after a long day in the evening. Moreover, the majority of the young adults see purchasing a car as a pivotal milestone in their lives. Thus, they have a big chance to experience reluctance about this rule.

To conclude, fostering the usage of public transport over private vehicles can maintain even distribution between individuals, decrease traffic congestion, and shortage the level of carbon emission. Although, this pattern might be uncomfortable for commuters who travel long hours after a long day, while also impacting their mental well-being, and limiting long-term aspirations of the young people.