In many countries schools have severe problems with student behaviour. What do you think are the causes of this? What solutions can you suggest?

Many schools around the world are facing a variety of challenges. In a number of countries, students are causing their schools serious problems because of the way they behave. I am going to outline why this is happening and suggest two possible ways to curb bad behaviour.

In terms of the lack of discipline at school. Whereas in the past, schools and teachers maintained extremely strict rules regarding everything from hairstyles to handwriting neatness, now there are few boundaries and expectations. Indeed, just this month, a Sydney school teacher was physically attacked by three students, and not one of them was suspended, let alone expelled. Without explicit and firmly enforced rules, such incidents serve to further encourage other students to play up as there seems to be no consequences.

In terms of other contributing factor related to parents. Those who are excessively lenient at home, allowing their children to set their own rules and essentially run wild, must also be held accountable when their child behaves badly at school. The problem is, even if the teachers report and punish the bad behaviour, many parents refuse to accept the matter, preferring instead to undermine the school’s authority, and further fuel their child’s delinquency.

In conclusion, I have shown my ideas on this statement about, first, the lack of discipline at school, then, other contributing factor related to parents.