In many countries small shops and towns centers are going out of business, because people tend to drive to the large out-of-town stores. This results in an increase in car use and it also means that people without cars have limited access to out-of-town stores. Do you think advantages of such development outweigh its disadvantages?

In the majority of countries, due to people opting to shop in major retail establishments located outside town centres, small-scale shops eventually cease to operate. This culminates in a rise in private vehicle usage and limited availability for those without a car. I am convinced that whether the merits of this trend outweigh its demerits largely depends on certain circumstances.

On the one hand, this change can produce favourable outcomes that are more significant compared to some potential consequences in certain cases. For instance, many such chain stores offer their own bus services that run through different regions of a town and carry passengers to stores outside the town at no extra charge as long as they shop. In this scenario, people without a car are not exempt from taking advantage of cheaper products or discounts in these stores. Moreover, it also allows individuals to purchase a monthly supply in a single trip. This contributes to saving time and money, which is perhaps twice as high as for people who regularly shop after every other workday. In these instances, the possible negative effects of this trend are too negligible to notice.

On the other hand, this can prove to be catastrophic if company-operated buses are not available. The most likely issue would be traffic jams, for many people commute to these venues, especially during rush hours, which inevitably leads to congestion. In cities where traffic is not properly regulated or the road infrastructure is poorly designed, people waste their time and money rather than achieve time and cost efficiency. Another adverse effect, as a result of an upsurge in automobile usage, is elevated levels of harmful gases released into the air, thereby increasing air pollution.

To conclude, in my view, the potential benefits of people shopping mostly in suburban shopping complexes may outweigh the drawbacks, depending on certain conditions: when such facilities offer their dedicated bus services, people can enjoy traffic-free trips and reasonably priced commodities. Otherwise, people are likely to have to endure prolonged driving and degradation in air quality in cities.