Everybody should be allowed admission to university or college programs regardless of their level of academic ability.

Rules for admission to university or college programs are one of the topic that cause discussions in the academic world, especially among students. In most cases, the prerequisites for applying to college programs are difficult to achieve. As consequence, one idea is to allow everybody to be admitted into their selected program despite the academic preparation.

On one hand, having limited admissions allow to have less difficulties in taking classes and studying because the admitted students have a strong base for their following knowledge. This aspect can be fundamental because decreases the possibility of failure in achieving good grades and complete the degree. Obviously, the selection can’t guarantee a 100% of success in studies but increase the chances to be able to following the programs in the better possible way.

Nevertheless, in many cases the interest, the passion and personal preparation in the chosen subjects can be stronger and more successful than academic ability either in terms of preparation and grades. For example, people coming from previous classical studies can find a more initial difficulty than students from scientific subjects but have a better capacity in oral presentation explaining themselves more clearly.

In addition, grades are not supposed to be a barrier for admission because this closes to any students the occasion for starting from scratch and having access to programs in which they are really involved and they could achieve great results.

In conclusion, free entry for everybody regardless of their level of preparation can be a solution in many programs in which guidelines are too strict with no reasons. Limited admissions can be used in specific cases in which prerequisites are essential.