In many countries, some students live with their families while studying, but other students prefer to attend universities in other cities. Do the advantages of living away from home outweigh the disadvantages?

In contemporary society, undergraduates who are pursuing on their coursework can be distinguished into two mindsets: choosing to accommodate with their relatives, or wanting independence by living separately in another part of the country. In this essay, I will point out possible advantages of the people living by their guardians and make comparisons to living independently.

Given their different circumstances and preferences, many university learners lean on how being with their relatives can be beneficial. The key advantage is the safety net of family support which frees them from having to deal with earning incomes for additional expenses or doing daily chores like cooking, cleaning, laundry…. Moreover, when students live with their parents during university, they’ll be able to gain emotional support from loved ones nearby, while the parents enjoy peace of mind knowing their child has fewer worries in early adulthood – creating mutual benefits for mental and physical well-being.

However, tasting independence early is capable of turning into a long-term solution, suggesting better effects to young adults. Although handling unfamiliar responsibilities during the early stage can be risky, but it ultimately fosters maturity, independence and discipline once they’ve gotten the hang of it. A typical example could be how some individuals started slipping into bad habits being too comfortable with new found freedom, while some who actually developed discipline through hardships would have the skills and the mind to deal with any obstacles coming ahead. Another benefit of independent living, which contradicts with one from the opposing viewpoint, is how it improves certain scenario of relationships. For instance, some people find staying with their family sparks frequent disagreement, while living separately allows room for parental worry – easing the tension.

To recapitulate, while the family setting provides an easier way of living and studying, allowing students to explore wider range of options, independence can help them become more capable individuals, being equipped with discipline, resilient and maturity. Despite current statements, neither of which ultimately determines whether a person succeeds; what’s truly decisive is the mental and physical support of parents, along with the care of educators that will become the foundation, guiding them towards success.