In many countries, the focus of historical education is on national achievements and figures. Some people argue that history curricula should instead prioritize the study of global events and diverse cultures. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this shift in historical perspective?

Nowadays the focus of historical education in many countries does focus on national achievements more than on global events. To my opinion, this shift can be positive and irrelevant at the same time.

Focusing on national achievements is a great way to raise cultural awareness in younger generations, as well as it can possitively stimulate youth to love and understand their country.

On the other hand, while focusing only on a local side of history students can miss some essential points of learning history. First of all, it may result in poor knowledge of specific aspects in worldwide history as there will not be such time dedicated to that. Further more, a child educated to only understand his countries background may result in lack of respect to other countries’ culture, traditions and challenges.

Taking into account both aspects of this question it is important to state that in my opinion a historical curriculum should focus equally on history of the whole nation, surrounding regions and local country in particular due to that missing of one of these essential points may lead to uneducated generation in future.