In many countries, the number of people suffering from stress is increasing. What do you think are the causes of this problem and what measures could be taken to tackle it? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Over the last decade, an increase of stress levels across the globe has been reported. Financial instability and a challenging job market have put undue stress on societies all over the world. I believe that it is vital that governments take a key stance in favor of the mental and emotional well-being of their citizens.

One of the leading causes for stress is economic difficulties. Inflation is on the rise around the globe, causing prices to increase in the last few years. As a result, many face financial challenges as a pay bump has failed to accompany these changes. The cost of living has grown significantly, while salaries have failed to accompany this change, forcing people to scrape by, sometimes not even being able to afford bare necessities. Therefore, any additional expenses for wants rather than needs, that could help relieve these stress-causing factors, have been placed in the back burner. In addition to this, new technological developments have led to the automatization of many jobs, resulting in a highly competitive job market becoming even more so. Before, those entering the workforce only had to compete with their peers, education and experience being the deciding factors; nowadays, however, with the development of artificial intelligence and similar advancements, the landscape has shifted. The combination of these two factors takes a toll on a person’s well-being, as uncertainty and instability lead to anxiety and higher stress levels.

Governments must take a stance and work through public policy to remedy this situation. New policies should put the emotional and mental well-being of the people at the center, while the government works to fix and regulate the root problems, such as tackling inflation and setting up laws to protect jobs from AI. These policies should allocate public resources towards the creation of helplines, therapy centers, and recreation spaces, which should be free and easily accessible for all.

In conclusion, while economic factors are the root problem of stress, and the government should work towards a future where the cost of living is lower, more immediate measures should be taken in order to protect the current well-being of the people.