In many countries, the number of people suffering from stress is increasing. What do you think are the causes of this problem and what measures could be taken to tackle it? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In many nations, an increase of people suffering from stress has been noted. A major cause for this upsetting phenomenon is increased expenses, furthermore, this could be solved by governments interfering in the state of the economy.

The current economic state of the world is headed towards a recession. Therefore, many people are experiencing cutdowns in salaries; inflation is not helping either. The price of goods has risen a notable amount, thus leading to an increase in the stress index of multiple countries, mainly by those who have families to feed. For example: Since 2020, the price of an egg dozen has risen by 5 dirhams in our local grocery, many other essentials have experienced similar price hikes.

As we all know, ruling authorities have the ability to control inflation, moreover, they can also set laws in place that prevent major cuts in salaries and layoffs. If governments balance the needs of the market with people satisfaction, its residents will have one less major problem to stress about. For examlple, many technology giants like Google and Microsoft have engaged in massive layoff sprees, leaving thousands of engineers jobless. If governments worldwide set limits for the aformentioned activities, countless families would have less stress to deal with.

To conclude, inflation and economic hardships have made stress levels world wide sky rocket, the effects of these on the general population can be curbed by governments interfering in favor of citizens, causing the stress index to gradually drop world wide.