In many countries, the use of social media has become increasingly popular among elderly people. Some people think this trend brings more benefits than drawbacks to the older generation. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In contemporary societies, there is an increasing trend for elderly people to access social media. While some might argue that this trend brings more merit than demerits, I believe that it is the opposite. There are more detrimental effects cause by this trend such as it could make them to have a health issues and it can limit their activities.

Firstly, social media can bring harm to the health of the older generation. The reason for this is that social media requires devices such as a computer or mobile phone to access. The blue radiation from the screen of these devices will reduce their vision. In addition to this, they will get other negative effects, such as headaches, if they spend too much time in front of their gadget.

Furthermore, as people get older, they will need to stay active to maintain their health. However, they would become less active and productive because they would become addicted to their gadget. For example, they will prefer to spend most of their time chatting online from home rather than going to meet their neighbors or doing other activities such as exercising or gardening. Consequently, if they are not moving their body, it will also lead them to have a non-communicable disease.

In conclusion, I believe that the impact of the rising trend of social media among elderly people has more disadvantages than advantages. Not only is it not good for their health, but it can also prevent them from keeping their bodies fit. Therefore, their families should look after them and give limitations for the use of social media.