In many countries there is a debate the effect of using longer prison sentences to combat crime. What are the advantages and disadvantage of giving longer prison sentences to criminal.

The debate over the effectiveness of using longer prison sentence to combat crime is still ongoing. Some people argue the effectiveness of using longer prison sentence has some beneficial to social life, while others highlight the social and economics crisis it will causes.

To begin with, nowadays crime rate is increasing in rapid manner, and also eventually the punishments for the crime also increasing with it. Prolonged prison sentence for combat crime has more advantage where the result is reflected on the social life. The most frequent result is crime rate decrease; people nowadays have a fear for jail and prison and staying they’re for long period eventually reduce their social life. For instance, By spreading the news about the longer prison sentence to public for what crime they committed will have a long-lasting effect on them by not to commit crim in their entire life, and also giving the person a long sentence will avoid upcoming crime in society. In addition, People in prison may get a chance to change themselves and be a better person by working by their own, this action will change the criminals, his/her family’s life and the society better future.

Even though, longer prison sentences have some advantage, it has also other side. Prolonged prison sentences have come with a challenge to the government by providing a shelter and food for them; because, of this more criminals will given a long prison sentence and government need to provide larger amount of economic for prison growth; this will lead to shortage in the economic although it can be used for other purpose like healthcare and education of the country. For example, If the other criminals get to know that the government providing free shelter, clothes and food for the criminals in prison they will definitely do crime on purpose to get that amenities. In addition to that, more criminals in a same prison will leads to fight between them which will be a problem for governments and officials.

In conclusion, Despite of the advantage and disadvantage of longer prison sentence, it depends on the individual person to realise their mistake and change into a good person. This can be achieved by various program like rehabilitation and events in prison to encourage them to behave in good manner.