In many countries there is a debate the effect of using longer prison sentences to combat crime. What are the advantages and disadvantage of giving longer prison sentences to criminal.

Crime has become common problem in countries, therefore many countries believes that longer prison sentences will resolve the crime and we will discuss both advertising disadvantages,

Crime consist of violation of law in broader terms. Crime includes a person in prison, breaking some rules, robbery, murder etc. It can solve by paying monetary fines, sentences or by court resolution on crime. Longer prison sentences assures the safety of civilian because the prisoner is behind the bar and cannot directly associate with such violating activities. If the criminals put behind bars for longer time then the government has to put less effort to maintain peace in the city as most of them are in jail. Many times a prisoner would like to change his life after going to prison and decide never to break rules in whole life. Due to longer sentence many people less likely to commit crime due to longer sentence.

If the period increase for prisoners then the jail infrastructure has to be built with proper security which will ensure a proper accommodation of the prisoners with all necessary needs. This may sharply increase the cost and expenditure for government. The families of prisoner will have to suffer from economic hardship because the source earner will not able to fulfill his family needs. If a innocent person is put behind bars without any violation or elegation of law then they may greatly impact by longer sentence decision.