In many countries, there is an increasing trend of importing ready-made meals instead of cooking at home using fresh ingredients. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

It is said that a lot of people would rather buy food instead of cooking it at home. While purchasing food offers a myriad of benefits, one also needs to consider the costly drawbacks.

The main reason most people purchase food is that faster and ready-made food reduces the time and energy needed. Busy people do not need to go through the manual act of shopping or spending time preparing and cooking such food. Going through a simple drive-through and ordering food is much more simple and time efficient.

However, there are obvious disadvantages to ordering food often. A major disadvantage is that the long term cost of purchasing food is greater than cooking at home. The groceries procured cost less in the long term, over frequent store bought food.

In conclusion, foods can be easy to purchase but it does not bode well economically over time. Therefore, it is imperative to consider both arguments and balance the advantages as well as the disadvantages for a time efficient yet healthy lifestyle.