In many countries, there is an ongoing debate about the role of universities. Some believe that universities should mainly train students for specific careers, while others argue that a broader academic education is more important. Debate both views and give your own opinion.

Several countries have discussions concerning the role of higher learning institutions, some advocating that students should be trained on their specialized fields, while others believe that training should be done on diverse academic areas. This essay discusses both views, arguing in favour of the later.

To start with, allowing students in tertiary institutions to study their career subject only will earn them more skills, expertise and knowledge in their careers. This is because learners will have more time to study on their career subject instead of dividing their learning hours to study different subjects, resulting in perfection of their career pathways. Besides that, due to competition in job market, learners have to dedicate their time studying their specialized subject to improve their chances of getting hired. For example, most IT companies demand for employees with more skills in latest programming languages and modern technologies such as Artificial Intelligence. Such skills requires more hours of practise, prompting students to concentrate more on their career subjects.

On the other hand, teaching students a broader range of subjects in higher learning institutions will help them understand other fundamental knowledge and skills apart from their career areas. Subjects like mathematics and finance will help students manage their finances appropriately after completing their studies. Moreover, teaching students in universities a wide range of courses will help them improve their social skills. For instance, courses such as communication skills and psychology help students understand how to communicate well and coexist with people of different personalities.

In conclusion, people from different parts of the world have divergent views concerning as to whether students should be taught their subjects of specialization only or be taught multiple subjects. While students can advance their skills and improve their chances of getting employed by specializing on their career subjects in universities, I believe the benefits of studying broader fields are more important because students learn additional vital knowledge apart from improving on their social skills.