In many countries, there is an ongoing debate about the role of universities. Some believe that universities should mainly train students for specific careers, while others argue that a broader academic education is more important. Debate both views and give your own opinion.

While universities play important roles in career paths and academic achievement, people have different views on how applying their degrees will benefit their lives. To my way of thinking, although they have to concentrate on pursuing academic achievement, preparing for a successful career since they become college students is more necessary.

On the one hand, getting support from academic advisors is highly crucial in preparing the students to focus on certain careers based on their interest and skills. Firstly, the students might not obtain an inappropriate occupation after they graduate from college. The universities ought to provide some career preparation guidance, such as interest tests, and job seeking. As a result, once they obtain the certificate, they will find it easier to prepare themselves on what they would like to become and how to apply for more approriate job. More importantly, career preparation helps the students to not only ready before they work but also to be more well-prepared in working in a team. The various and important soft-skills are needed to train on universities, for example communication, problem solving, and team work. Obviously, this method can help students reduce stress and negative feelings after graduation.

On the other hand, some people argue that it is more beneficial for students in broadening their academic education in order to learn various of knowledge beside their major. Needless to say expanding knowledge in university results a great insight to explore numerous different fields such as science, history, literature, or art. However, the more they learn a number of knowledge, it is more challenging for them separate their focus between the original major and the new one. The fact of the matter is the students need to finish and be expert in their own majors after graduation so that they are able to become professional workers in their own fields. Moreover, other activities may affect their academic performance since they must spend more times in learning different knowledge in a certain education. Of course, the grade that the students obtain may be decreased.

In conclusion, although both factors have their own implications, I believe with more considerable impacts on preparing their career paths is more beneficial. Hence, if students have interests to explore and boarden new knowledge in a certain education, it is suggested that they need to manage their time management between the original major and the another one.