In many countries, there's an increasing trend of urban farms being established within cities. Do the advantages of promoting urban farms outweigh the disadvantages?

Initiating and promoting agriculture within urban areas is supported by a few countries nowadays. This leaves the significant question: Do the pros of introducing such initiatives make up for the cons that follow?

To start off, agriculture is a necessary implication that is vital for maintaining the needs of citizens in areas that are lived in. It ensures one of the most simplest human needs to sustain a healthy life, which is food. Therefore, the application of more agricultral activity should be supported. As we all know, urban areas are heavily populated due to them being larger environments, as well as increased job opportunities and other key factors. Due to this, the communities living in these areas are in high need of well maintained agriculture within their locations. With agriculture being within city limits, this makes it more easily obtainable and easier to transport goods, making many workers jobs less tiresome. For instance, they now don’t have to work from larger distances.

Although supporting urban agriculture may have its benefits, I believe there are a few notable downsides that make the whole idea less worthy. From my perspective, I believe agriculture thrives the most in rural environments rather than in-city premices. Not only that, but excecuting agricultural activities within a city takes up a large amount of space that could instead be used for more urbanized purposes. For example, growing crops in a certain part of land could have instead been used to build a school, considering high urban areas are highly populated. As a result, It would be more convinient to use urbanized land to serve for the citizens in the city, leaving agriculture for rural spaces, where they are more properly nourished away from city pollution.

To conclude, introducing agriculture implementations could be useful in several ways, serving workers and better location. But on the other hand, it has some pretty significant cons that may take away the goal entirely.