In many countries today, major cities have become too big and overcrowded. Why is this? What measures could be taken to reduce this problem?

In many countries nowadays, major cities have become too big and overcrowded. This essay aims to pinpoint underlying causes of this issue and to suggest workable strategies to reduce the terrible implication of it.

There are several underlying reasons why many major cities have become bigger and more overcrowded. Chief among these is having more opportunities for physical and mental development. With increasing investment in building modern infrastructure such as hospitals, educational environment, businesses, and services sectors, this attracts many people moving to urban areas to find better quality of life, and another reason is to find new jobs with stable earnings. For example, in mega cities where residents meet many special demands about education, finance, entertainment and public health, it opens more career opportunities for unemployed people. However these demandings are not well-developed in rural areas. One different reason can be explained why the big cities are crowded is that travel needs. Now, ride-hailing or online purchasing applications are the best choice for people owing to its convenience and speed. It is also more crowded, especially the times leading up to the holidays and rush hours.

To effectively address the harmful effects of this development, comprehensive solutions are imperative. A workable remedy is to expand tourism and encourage planning. The government could issue a planning policy to organise big tourism sites. From a city under provincial administration, Da Nang has become a major economic and cultural center, renowned as a livable city and a must-visit city with its integrated infrastructure, green landscapes, and unique social welfare policies. As a result, creating work and steady income for residents in life improvement, cultural preservation.

In conclusion, overpopulation remains a worrying issue that limits balanced development across regions. However, with strategic planning and investment in less developed areas, governments can reduce population pressure and promote more sustainable urban growth.