In many countries today, major cities have become too big and overcrowded. Why is this? What measures could be taken to reduce this problem?

That cities are becoming increasingly populated nowadays has been a global phenomenon. This trend is attributable to the benefits living in the city brings, and it might be ameliorated by diverting a proportion of the population to the countrysides.

On the one hand, the influx of people moving to metropolises can be explained by the higher living standards in these places. Indeed, big cities are frequently major economic hubs that offer countless job opportunities thanks to the concentration of industrial estates. This can draw a large number of individuals who cannot find a job in their hometown or those who want to advance their career. Moreover, cities generally offer higher standards of living than do rural areas. For example, the government is more likely to allocate budget to building and modernizing hospitals in populous places so there are overall more high-quality hospitals in urban than in rural places. Additionally, the majority of top-notch schools and universities are located in cities, prompting numerous students to move in pursuit of education.

On the other hand, the situation of overcrowded cities can be improved by efforts to divert citizens to rural areas. As aforementioned, many people leave their hometown in search of a better life. Therefore, it seems reasonable that to solve the problem, the government can invest in enhancing the quality of life in the countryside. To this end, establishing industrial parks may be a plausible way, as they can provide job opportunities for the local people. Furthermore, setting up more high-quality schools also enables students to have a good education while still remaining in their hometown. Last but not least, many patients have to relocate to big cities with modern hospitals to increase their chance of survival and curing their illnesses. Thus, it stands to reason that building more hospitals in rural places reduces the flow of people to big cities.

In conclusion, I think that the cities’ overcrowded population results in part from the job opportunities and facilities there. Therefore, I believe that opening up opportunities and improving the amenities in rural regions goes a long way in lessening the influx of people to cities.