In many countries, visitors to art galleries has been declining steadily. What are the reasons for this? What could be done to improve this development?

It is evident that the number of art galleries’ callers has been plunging gradually in many nations around the world. Therefore, this essay attempts to explain factors causing this tendency prior to presenting solutions to tackle this situation.

To begin with, the prime rationale to this circumstance is that online art sites are steadily replacing traditional art museums. To be more specifically, it is no longer mandatory for guests to visit galleries in person to appreciate paintings of renowned artists as copies of those masterpieces are uploaded widely on online platforms. Additionally, entrance fees of art galleries may be considered unaffordable compared to free access to online art sites. Moreover, schools and universities currently tend to prioritize skill-based subjects and critical thinking skills over art, leading to inadequate attention to art through young generations.

On the other hand, there are many ways to combat these challenges. One requisite is that governments should assist local art galleries to improve their infrastructure and facilities as well as maintain historical paintings, therefore attracting tourists to explore. Moreover, new art-oriented subjects should be emphasized by universities and students’ creativity should be encouraged. For instance, schools can offer trip to art museums once a month. It is widely believed that children developing interest in art tend to perform better in many aspects of life.

In conclusion, tourists to art sites has been decreasing in many countries due to many factors. However, this tendency can be tackled with the assistance of governments as well as individual’s advocacy.