In many countries, young people are finding it harder to get work. What do you think are the main causes of this? What effect might this have in future?

In many parts of the world, securing a job seems to be a major challenge for young job seekers after graduation. These days, although the young labour workforce is considered a key driver of countries’economic development, the level of labour underutilisation is still high. This essay will aim to examine the underlying reason for this paradox in the labour market.

One of the main reasons for difficulty in finding jobs for youngsters is overpopulation in a specific area or country. In an underdeveloped country, family planning policies are often ignored or underestimated by the residents because they are not educated about or just because of other reasons such as religious beliefs, customs, or social stereotypes. Additionally, high rates of unemployment in young people also occurred in developed countries, which fail to contribute to the workforce. When a metropolis welcomes a huge number of immigrants from surrounding provinces, the number of people who are willing to apply for a job increases. Those contribute to high birth rates and a labor surplus in society. When the old generation keeps ignoring the alarming results of high natality, the next one will be the impacted generation.

The main effect of high rates of youth unemployment on the economy of an area or a country is creating a geographical maldistribution and labor surplus. When young labourers from rural areas leave their hometown to stand a chance of working in factories or pursue their dream job in a big city, the number of country dwellers decreases, leading to a lack of farmwork. Conversely, in the city, ordinary people are struggling to find a vacancy and pave the way for work promotion, and the number of job seekers surpasses the number of positions in a company. Since agriculture plays an important role in the economy of a country, this massive shift posed a threat to national food security and rural development.

In conclusion, understanding the causes of youth unemployment and its effects is the fundamental and crucial step to generating a proper solution. In addition, to effectively tackle the unemployment crisis among youngsters, the authority also has a major impact on encouraging entrepreneurs and contributing to the workforce in each area.