In many countries, young people are leaving their homes in the countryside to live in large cities. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In a large number of countries all over the world, there is a tendency for youngsters to migrate to large cities. This paper will analyze both advantages and disadvantages of this trend.

On the one hand, that more young people choose to settle down in the big cities instead of coming back to their homes in the countries brings remarkable advantages for the youth themselves and for the society in general. Big cities are strategized as the economic, culture, social, and education centers of the area so high quality education institutions, big corporations, and recreational facilities of many types are located here, which offers young people a wide range of opportunities for self-development and career progression. The convenience of the city life essence together with the abundance of attractive chances for growth and job promotions can be said to be two of the main elements keeping youngsters away from considering staying in the countryside. In addition, having young and talented workforce is a huge asset to the socio-economic development of the urban area, as these young individuals will join the workforce, and at the same time, purchase services and products, hence, contributing to the regional GDP.

On the other hand, there are some disadvantages associated with the transition of young people from countryside to large cities. As far as the countryside is concerned, aging population is likely to happen with the decreasing number of young people over the years, consequently affecting the local economy in a negative way. This is because the elderly could only serve in a limited number of working fields unlike their juniors.

Regarding urban areas, high rate of migration by young residents from the countryside might result in overpopulation ensued by traffic jams as well as a variety of pollution such as air, noise, and water. With this, the quality of life is significantly reduced, affecting local residents’ mental and physical wellbeing.

In general, that youngsters move from countryside to cities to pursue better opportunities and invest in future has both merits and demerits. However, the advantages seem to outweigh the disadvantages because positive impacts brought about to the young residents and the cities – the center of development of the countries are huge while disadvantages could be gradually tackled if the local authority makes efforts to implement efficient urban planning and improve transportation infrastructure.