In many parts of the world, people do research on their family history. Some people believe that finding out about previous generations is a useful thing to do. However, others believe that it is better to focus on present and future generations. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is argued that individuals should learn about their family background since it can bring many benefits. Some people agree with this opinion, while others oppose that the present and future generations should be prioritized. From my opinion, I am in favor of the latter view.

On the one hand, reaching about family history has more several advantages. Firstly, people can learn about knowledge and experience from their ancestors and maintain these traditional values through generations. For example, in traditional villages of Vietnam like Van Phuc village, youngsters may join in making traditional Ao Dai silk classes, which are held by skilled craftsmen. This may foster the traditional methods being passed through generations and contribute to safeguarding the Vietnamese customs and traditions. Secondly, conducting research on family backgrounds can strengthen the family relationship and create a sense of belonging with the ancestors, contributing to the promotion of patriotism. Take Vietnamese people as an example, this trend may encourage people to feel proud of the past when their predecessors won against French colonists and American aggressor, leading to patriotism.

On the other hand, I believe that the present and future generation need prioritizing to some extent. The main reason is that the present generation are now facing many issues of life that prevent them from individual growth, limiting the development of society as a whole. For instance, education problems such lack of well-trained teachers and facilities, are discouraging children from going to primary school in remote areas. Therefore, governments should take immediate actions rectify the issue rather than promote people to spend time on studying past events. To be more specific, governmental budgets should be allocated resources to improve the facilities like buildings, libraries of the region, making it accessible for students to go to school and to gain deep insights of knowledge. As a result, the present students will become a decent generation which can contribute positively to the community. Accordingly, in the future, they will have academic qualifications and earn money.

In conclusion, although learning about previous generations plays a significant role in promoting family bond and patriotism, it seems to me that present and future generation should be taken into consideration and prioritized more.