In many parts of the world, people do research on their family history. Some people believe that finding out about previous generations is a useful thing to do. However, others believe that it is better to focus on present and future generations. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Considering the increasing curiosity of humans about ancestry, the question of whether to research genealogy is looming large. While many people believe that it is necessary to trace our history, others claim that time should be spent on present and future generations. This essay will analyse these conflicting views before giving my opinion.

On the one hand, one justification in favor of genealogical research has to do with the better health fulfillment. In other words, it is historically familial stories, stretched back hundreds of years, which give individuals a strong intergenerational self, connection, strength and resilience. This is due to the fact that a strong family narrative helps people believe more in emotional values. For example, acknowledging that their ancestors strived hard for the national liberation as veterans, Vietnamese people regard them as huge motivators to overcome life’s challenges as nothing is more sorrowful than physical and mental pains wars bring. Therefore, although researching family history can be time-consuming and irifuriating, it is a well-worth opportunity to pay homage to our ancestors and appreciate ourselves.

On the other hand, opponents of historical research claim that this activity is time-consuming, extravagant, and useless. Even though it can be tempting to dive straight in and search for a particular ancestor, individuals need to spend a large amount of money and sacrifice their time for historical records. It is not a priority in today’s modern life when there are many more social responsibilities, like work and family, each person has to bear. For instance, it is impossible for a low-income family to research its family records due to its lack of money. Hence, people need to take this issue into consideration in terms of their budget, time and hard work.

To conclude, while each view has its own merit, I think we should have a balanced approach. Geneological research can bring emotional value and pride; however, it should not overshadow the importance of social responsibilities to individuals and future generations. Prioritizing present goals while occasionally searching for familial histories may enrich personal and cultural understanding.