In many parts of the world there is continuous coverage of sport on television. Some people believe this discourages the young from taking part in any sport themselves. Discuss this view and give your own opinion.

Many reports have highlighted that the presence of sports TV programmes and sports channels on television is disproportionate. Some people might argue that this could lead to a decrease in children’s will to participate in any sport. However, it’s undeniable that this could inspire children rather than overwhelm them. (??)

One of the main reasons for discouragement is definitely related to the huge expectations that reside both in children and in their parents. A report from an interview conducted in a children’s football school revealed that children are often scared not to be well-formed and to be judged by peers and relatives.

When it comes to experiencing the first difficulties, the child could think to be not sufficiently prepared or talented. For example, on Italian television, there is a rather frequent coverage of football matches. Therefore, many children aspire to become famous football players. However, what children don’t get to see is the hard preparation that hides behind the final football game, such as physical training, a healthy lifestyle and the assistance of a mental coach.

On the opposite, psychologists have stated that positive role models that juveniles see on television can have a positive effect on them, being of inspiration. A prime example of that is my personal experience, seeing the famous Roberto Bolle in tv made me challenge the limits of my comfort zones and inspired me and many other ballerinas to get into such techical discipline.

Overall, I reckon that the positive effects caused by continous coverage of sport on tv, outweigh the drawbacks.