In many parts of the world today there is a profitable market for products which lighten or whiten people’s skin. Outline the reasons for using such products and discuss what effects they have in terms of health and society.

In some areas of the world today, products that lighten or whiten skin are a profitable market. This trend created the idea of beauty and prosperity, which are associated with health issues in the long run.

Nowadays, products that lighten skin have become a huge part of the beauty standard in most Asian countries. They believe that having a white complexion is more attractive than dark skin, and it boosts their self-confidence. A lot of women in today’s world spend a fortune just to improve their self-image by whitening their skin. This must be influenced by advertisements that feature Caucasian models promoting beauty products that assure long-term effects on the complexion.

Others believe that one’s complexion is a symbol of social status. Society has this misguided perception that white skin reflects the wealth of a person. It is an idea that affects the mentality of the people; therefore, they aim to lighten their skin pigmentation and religiously use whitening products to show their wealth. For instance, celebrities in some Asian countries improve themselves by bleaching their skin to look like someone with deep pockets.

Although skin-lightening products help women to be more confident, they might result in health problems. The longer you use the products, the more chances there are that they will develop skin cancer or other diseases. The products are destroying the melanin that protects the skin from the harmful rays of the sun. In addition, consuming those products does not guarantee long-term results and can be harmful to your health.

In conclusion, whitening products reinforce perceptions that neither individuals nor society over a long period of time. Measures should be taken to educate the public about the application of such products and change their mentality about their use.