In many places, people’s lifestyles are changing rapidly, and this affects family relationships. Do you think the advantages of such developments outweigh the disadvantages?

There has been much controversy in various places about whether rapid changes in ways of life and their influence on relationships between parents and siblings have benefits or drawbacks. From my perspective, I completely believe that these shifts have more advantages.

On the one hand, shifts into ways of living have some negative impacts on relationships between people who are closely related. To begin with, this change can cause significant reduction in face-to-face interaction between parents and children. With advanced technologies, people generally have trends to use smart devices in their leisure time rather than have talks with each other in the family. As a result, family bonds will be lost and the family atmosphere will be overwhelmed with quietness instead. Furthermore, in modern lifestyles, people usually suffer from the work and life pressures. With many demands from modern society, people have to work long hours and have to meet deadlines. Thus, when people plunge into their duties at work, this means they do not have much quality time for their family members. Besides, the fast-paced life requires individuals to work harder, resulting in less time spent with family. Consequently, gaps among family members will appear.

On the other hand, changes in lifestyles have significant advantages. One of the benefits of varying ways of living is that people can easily access diverse opportunities. This offers family members the chance to experience a wider range of educational and recreational activities. Parents and siblings can learn the same course together. Bringing many interesting things from outside back into the family to expand knowledge, experience and horizons. Another benefit that development in ways of life brings to family relationships is an improved quality of life. A healthier lifestyle can enhance the healthcare and wellness of the entire family. For example, all members in the family can exercise together, strengthening the bond between parents and children and reducing the gap between generations. As a result, the higher quality of life is improved, the better family relationships can be.

In conclusion, changes in ways of living might have benefits. I firmly believe that this situation still has more advantages.