In many schools and universities, girls tend to choose arts subjects (eg, languages) and boys choose science subjects (eg. Physics). What do you think are the reasons? Do you think that this tendency should be changed?

It is commonly seen in many schools that girls intend to opt for arts subjects while science is the most preferred subject by boys. The influences of society and family are the most significant reasons for this trend. I strongly believe that subjects should be chosen based on the student’s preferences.

To begin with, it is irrefutable that in every society, it is taught that girls are excellent at different types of art subjects such as music, fashion, acting, language and literature. Therefore, their preferences are formed based on this belief and take these subjects as their major in most cases. Nevertheless, it is thought by an increasing number of people in many societies that boys should learn more challenging subjects such as science as they have great talent in critical reasoning and creativity. For example, most scientists are males which allows male students to believe that they are meant to be taking challenging subjects.

I certainly believe that this tendency ought to be altered and students should be allowed to decide what they want to pursue. As a student, they should have the right to study in their preferred and interesting subjects so that they can thrive in their future life. For example, girls who are good at physics and chemistry, have great potential to provide services in engineering and other IT-related fields. Therefore, they should be encouraged to acquire knowledge in these subjects.

In conclusion, girls and boys have different choices regarding subjects such girls opt for arts subjects while boys like to study science due to the influence of family and society. I firmly believe that students should ensure their freedom to choose the subjects according to their preferences and interests regardless of gender preference.