In many schools and universities, girls tend to choose arts subjects (eg, languages) and boys choose science subjects (eg. Physics). What do you think are the reasons? Do you think that this tendency should be changed?

The prevalence in gender inequality regarding subjects options in several educational institutions is still complex, with girls being towards arts subject while boys always opt for science one. This essay will first examine the underlying reasons of this phenomenon before showing my thoughts about the future of this tendency.

The primary reason of this tendency stems from the social stereotypes that are labeled as male and female characteristics. In accordance with social benchmarks, men are believed to be superior to women in terms of logical thinking, analytical skill, and scientific literacy, which are of important in enhancing academic knowledge regarding science subjects. This myopic perspective has circumvented girls from learning Physics, Chemistry, or Biology because of being afraid that these subjects are out of their reach. For instance, if a girl pursued scientific professionals, such as Physics, she would easily be warned, or even prohibited by her family. This prevention primarily lies on the family’s disbelief on her capacity, undermining her desire in acquiring more understanding in this field. However, when it come to art subjects, society views them as easier compared to scientific domains. Therefore, girls, whose intellectual is not appreciated as boys, are oriented to learn these subjects, like Languages, Music, or Literature. Consequently, gender disparity featured in social stereotypes is the primary reason behind this phenomenon.

As this inequality not only exacerbates personal growth, but also hinders societal development in terms of scientific domains, I totally believe that a balanced approach should be addressed. For instance, the rise in the number of women engaging in tackling environmental crises can propose other unique views to combat global warming, wide-spread epidemic, or sustainable resources. That being the case, encouraging scientific understanding of women is beneficial for those being into this domain in particular, and overall scientific enhancement as a whole. From the aforementioned considerations, initiatives are highly necessary to transform this tendency into a much more comprehensive phenomenon.

To summarize, societal stereotypes are one of the major contributors to the gender inequalitys regarding subjects-tendency. Therefore, it is imperative that a balanced approach should be implemented to change this status quo, enhancing overall development of communities.