In many schools and universities, girls tend to choose arts subjects (eg, languages) and boys choose science subjects (eg. Physics). What do you think are the reasons? Do you think that this tendency should be changed?

In many parts of the world, student girls tend to obtain a degree in arts subjects, while an increasing number of boys is choosing science subjects, such as physics. To my mind, main reasons for this trend is the influences of cultural bias. Personally, I firmly believe that the trend ought to be changed, as this can contribute to reduced gender inequality and negatively affect local economy.

One of the main causes of this problem is that in many cultures, science subjects are considered as unsuitable for girls and arts subjects for boys. This is because in the past, many famous scientists who largely contributed to scientific progress were men. It follows that, for boys, choosing such subjects can be source of proud. Additionally, obtaining a degree in arts subjects can be considered as something ashamed, and boys who decided to learn these subjects may be faced with bullying by their contemporaries. The same can be applied to girls. In many countries, such as Iraq and Iran, scientific education for girls may be negatively accepted by society, as in some circumstances, girls are not allowed to study these subjects because of religious or cultural reasons. As a result, being under pressure, they may be forced to choose other subjects.

It is imperative for countries to address this pressing issue because this situation discourages people from studying their desired subjects. Otherwise, it can has a negative impact on economics. If people do not make a decison on their own in choosing their career path, they may have little incentive to study this subject and work in their later lives. Additionally, this pressing issue may contribute to gender inequality. If in workplaces the majority of employees are women or men, the minority may experience with some problems. For example, in many workplaces, the temperature of room is regulated to be suitable for men, or the size and form of clothes may be designed for men.

To conclude, differences between the choises of two genders caused by bias. And this tendency should be addressed because it promotes gender inequality and has disadvantages in economic terms.