In many schools and universities, girls tend to choose arts subjects (eg, languages) and boys choose science subjects (eg. Physics). What do you think are the reasons? Do you think that this tendency should be changed?

Based on the biological development, it is clearer that every sex has its own similarities. Art subjects are chosen by girls and boys tend to be keen on science ones that are compelling reasons. In this essay, I am going to explain reasons for this statement, then give my opinion on whether or not to change this tendency.

In terms of reasons, there are two. First, most girls are not into subjects that require researching, exploring, and experimenting, such as biology. To illustrate, technical and mechanical subjects give girls a sense of difficulty and roughness. This is because there are numerous definitions or functions in science subjects, which will make girls give up if they do not understand well, for instance, evolution theory. Second, children are under the direction of parents from very young ages, that is why their selections are their parents’ selections. To demonstrate, lots of parents expect their children to have successful careers in the future, such as doctors. As a result, they let their children concentrate on some certain subjects in schools, such as biology, math, and chemistry. Therefore, the more parents hope their boys to work scientific jobs, the more boys choose science subjects, and contrast to girls.

On the other hand, there are not only the above situations, but also girls and boys tend to choose science and art subjects, respectively. This is because every sex has its own similarities, but every person has their own personality. For instance, recently, there was a Vietnamese woman who flew to the moon, and she hoped all Vietnamese women could see her and pursue their dreams. That is why the statement is not true for all girls and boys. From my perspective, it is unnecessary to change this tendency. It is beneficial to let children choose subjects that they are into. This is because we not only recognize the success of men but also the success of women in every field, in both arts and science.

In conclusion, I have shown some reasons why art subjects are chosen by girls and boys tend to be keen on science ones. From my point of view, it is beneficial to let children choose subjects that they are into, and it is unnecessary to change this tendency.