In many urban areas, planners tend to arrange shops, schools, offices, and homes in specific areas and separate them from one another. Do the benefits of this trend outweigh its drawbacks?

Nowadays, town planners prefer to locate facilities such as shopping malls, educational buildings, offices, or residential settlements in special places and arranging them separately. I firmly believe that it has more benefits than relocating all types of buildings in a random range.

In many cities, architectures and planners are arranging the buildings in specific areas for the purpose of improving efficiency, traffic and accessibility. The shopping malls, for example, are being located in the same building, but in a limited space, so that residents can shop around without any extra motions, or they can easily find the range of products. The main benefit is no transportation need while shopping hours. Meanwhile, arranging the buildings helps to make a friendly environment. For instance, building universities and schools in the same area offers quiet environment, because shops and offices are prone to be noisy.

However, some buildings are multi-functional, they include offices, kindergartens, supermarkets, or gyms, are easy to access. They provide a reduction of traffic in the streets by offering daily basis needed facilities in one building. For instance, Xonsaroy houses, they offer multi-functional houses: offices, supermarkets, private schools, hospital and other facilities. It has helped not only to reduce journeys taken to reach daily need, but also to make the city a pedestrian-friendly place. Moreover, this may cause the building to be in chaos, and it will be difficult to control so many figures at the same time.

In conclusion, arranging the building according to the purposes has more advantages to the city such as better security, no extra efforts, quite environment and traffic reduction.