In many workplaces, online communication is getting more common than meeting face to face. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Technology advancements have increasingly affected how businesses run their businesses both internally and externally. These advancements have brought changes in the workplace such as the preference of online communication over face to face meeings. This essay will be discussing how the advantages of this development do not outweigh the disadvantages.

As workplaces implement the constant updates of technological advancements there are certain esssential aspects that are lost in this process. Naturally, communication included the reading of body language, facial expressions and presence as a whole. The use of online communication replaces this entirely. People may feel more at ease with online communication rather than face-to-face meetings but this does not record the raw personality of the whole conversation and the people involved. In terms of body language and facial expression, it is nearly impossible to tell one’s body language or facial expressions due to the barriers that are in existence during online communications. These are important in recording a person’s true intentions especially in interviews.

In contrast with the advantage of productivity in the workplace due to time saving, online communication encourages laziness from one or all parties involved as it does not require a lot of preparation. Face-to-face meetings require effort in ensuring there is a sense of respect and impression. This also shows elements such as commitment which is an essential trait in a workplace.

Ultimately, the disadvantages of online communication lie mostly on elements that are important in interpreting a person’s intentions and personality traits that may in turn have an effect in the workplace.