In more and more countries, people choose to give money on special occasions rather than giving gifts chosen personally. Why might this be the case? Is it a positive or a negative development

In many nations around the world, individuals decide to give cash on special occasions instead of giving presents chosen personally. This is because nowadays people prefer to use this money in a useful way; and in my opinion, I find this a positive development as it saves time and effort.

Giving cash money at special events, such as weddings, birthdays, and graduations, is something many people find beneficial because they can use it in various ways. In other words, people usually give watches, clothes, and wallets as gifts and the receivers may already have those items; as a result, they may not find these gifts useful, while giving them a sum of money can be used in different ways, such as buying household appliances or even going on a holiday. For example, a survey in Germany shows that couples prefer to receive money rather than gifts so that they can use it to buy the most needed items.

However, in my opinion, I find this a positive trend because it saves a considerable amount of time and effort. Going from shop to shop and spending time deciding what the receiver may need and like consumes a lot of time and effort. Moreover, in today’s busy life, humans can’t find time to do this thing, so they prefer to escape this conflict and simply choose the easiest alternative by giving money on occasion rather than buying gifts. For instance, a survey in the UK depicts that individuals favor handing money or sending it via banks at weddings instead of going to markets and searching for a good present.

In conclusion, in different countries, people like to give cash on different types of occasions as they can invest this money as they wish; however, I find this is a positive change due to its effort reduction and time savings.