In most countries, the crime rate is often higher in urban areas than in rural areas. Why you do you think that is? What can be done to reduce the crime rate?

In many countries, the cases of crimes are believed to be far more frequent in cities than in rural areas. This development has certain reasons, such as population density and impoverishment; however, there are a number of steps that can be taken to address this issue.

One reason why the rate of crime is considerably high is that urban places are densely populated. In other words, the more people settle in urban areas, the more crimes would be witnessed, as the population itself is much higher in cities than in the countryside. The people in the countryside are scarce, so it reduces the likelihood of committing crime. Another factor leading to an increased crime rate in urban areas can be poverty, which stems from mainly unemployment. That is to say, poverty can be a major contributor and may heighten the likelihood of criminal behavior in urban areas due to the deprivation of basic necessities. For example, Azerbaijan appears to have fewer crime rates; only the cases of burglary and theft are noticed as a result of economic hardship. People, therefore, turn to unlawful acts in order to provide their families with basic resources.

As far as the solutions are concerned, one way to tackle this would be harsher punishment, which can deter people from crime. In other words, if stricter rules were to be implemented for anyone who broke the law, other people would undoubtedly shun criminal and anti-social behavior. Another feasible solution is creating more job opportunities by running training institutions for the unemployed in rural areas. To be more specific, building vocational schools and providing them with decent jobs for unskilled workers enhances necessary skills in the working environment. For instance, in Azerbaijan, many residents relocated to liberated areas with the support of the self-employment program, and employment has already been secured for them in Karabagh and Eastern Zangazur. Hence, helping these individuals facilitates finding decent jobs instead of attempting to perpetrate crimes.

In conclusion, there are the above- mentioned reasons why many offenders return to crime upon being released; measures such as enforcing stricter punishment and offering better job opportunities in rural places can be taken to prevent them from doing so.