In most developed countries shopping is not only about buying the goods you need, it is also perceived as entertainment. Is it a positive or negative development?

In modern days, entertainment is not only watching TV shows or going to some popular amusement park with our families but, we can entertain ourselves just by shopping. There are some downsides and benefits to this situation, therefore, in this essay, I will discuss why we should agree the issue is negative for most developed countries.

Firstly, entertainment is one of the numerous needs that must be fulfilled to pursue happiness in people’s lives. Shopping for entertainment is done by all people, this habit can lead them to financial problems because everyone is buying everything, even something which they do not need, even though they do not have financial freedom. So, it can lead them to stress because of their need to update their gadgets or just buy trendy shoes. On the other hand, their essential needs are not yet fulfilled because of their big expenses. It forced them to borrow some money and commit criminal acts to fulfil their impulsive behaviour.

There are merits to this situation as they will experience growth in their economic sector because a huge amount of money is in their economic cycle. Nevertheless, many work opportunities will be opened and investors will invest their money owing to financial growth. Besides, many sectors will experience a huge development because of these hedonistic behaviours in society. Many gadgets are becoming more advanced due to complying with their consumer needs, which can help anything done faster because of technological development happening in all sectors.

In conclusion, people do not need to shop to entertain themselves because it can create a hedonistic behaviour and stress because of the need to update unimportant things or force them to buy unnecessary kinds of stuff for their lives.