In nearly all science courses at university, there are significantly more male students than female students. What is the reason for this? What could be done to balance out the numbers?

These days, males often outnumber females in the science-based departments of many tertiary institutions. After examining the causes behind this disparity, the essay will propose some corresponding solutions.

First, the phenomenon under discussion is attributable to gender discrimination in the workplace, where graduates work after their graduations. Specifically, employers in companies specialized in science fields, such as information technology or engineering, tend to favor male candidates over their female counterparts, because the latter are often regarded as emotionally driven and lacking logic. To eliminate this negative preconception, the government should enact laws imposing punitive measures on organizations with discriminatory hiring practices. Once such changes have been implemented, every job applicant will be treated equally, encouraging more women to join the workforce.

Furthermore, the striking difference in the numbers of students in terms of gender itself is the reason behind its own perpetuation. For example, in a survey, many high school girls in Vietnam have given up their opportunities to study at Hanoi University of Science and Technology since they feel uncomfortable or even overwhelmed when being surrounded by too many boys. In this case, the solution may lie in the establishment of more single-sex science institutions. Notable, once such universities have admitted enough students, they can be merged with those where men still outnumber women, thus further promoting gender equality.

In conclusion, women often hesitate to enroll in science-related majors in tertiary education for several reasons, including gender discrimination in hiring practices and the widening gulf between the numbers of learners of the two sexes. Hopefully, governmental implementation of laws to protect the rights of female candidates and the foundation of single-sex educational institutions can solve or at least mitigate the problem.