In nearly all science courses at university, there are significantly more male students than female students. What is the reason for this? What could be done to balance out the numbers?

The majority of tertiary education witnessed the outweighed number of male pursuers in comparison to females. In this following essay, I will shed light on the key rationales of this status before proposing several strategies to address this gender imbalance in the academic environment.

With reference to primary causes, I believe that some factors are attributed to this phenomenon. Firstly, this gender stereotype is considered to be the main culprit, affected by societal norms. To be specific, in many societies, there is a prejudice that science and technology are associated with men, while humanities or social sciences are particularly suitable for women. Hence, this deep-seated social expectations influenced profoundly in the decision of selecting university courses. Secondly, the lack of role models in scientific fields further exacerbates this problem. To explain, due to the long existence of patriarchy in some societies, male chauvinism is formed, which limits the ability and opportunities of women to attend proper education. Therefore, when the name of male scientists posed a noticeable impact on worldwide science backgrounds such as Aristoteles, Galile, Einstein, women could not find a stable position. As a consequence, this pattern diminished confidence in females until contemporary duration because they lack the orientation and role model.

To close the gender divide, some practical acts should be implemented by organizations and schools. More campaigns need to launch in order to encourage the passion and determination in females pursuing scientific aspects. Specifically, mentorship programmes where girls can connect with eminent women in scientific fields so they could receive shared experiences and guidance could challenge the prejudice. In addition, learning materials are also important in shaping the consciousness of students. Thus, textbooks should include images and features of women. As a result, that relatable information motivates young women to achieve their aims in fields that are assumed to be men’s domains.

To sum up, the disproportionate representation of male students in university science courses can be attributed to entrenched societal stereotypes and the scarcity of female role models. Nevertheless, with strategic interventions, such as curriculum reforms and proactive outreach initiatives, it is possible to redress this imbalance and cultivate a more inclusive environment that encourages female participation in science.