In order to cover the increasing cost of expenses, more and more people work very long shifts or have two or more jobs. What are the advantages and disadvantages of working very long hours or having more than one job?

In this day and age, spending extra hours or having two or more jobs at work is a growing tendency in society. This phenomenon may stem from the costs of living being constantly on the rise. The essay will attempt to elaborate on the benefits and drawbacks of this trend.

On the one hand, there are a wide range of advantages to working long extra hours or getting different employment. Working extra hours will earn more money and facilitate an individual’s life and financial benefit for people. Humans will have a comfortable life with their family. Furthermore, many people feel an urge to push themselves harder and work longer hours to finish their work, believing that taking on more responsibilities can help them and their organizations thrive in an intense workplace.

On the other hand, extra hours or working with more jobs have also brought a ton of downsides. Working overtime or doing multiple jobs at once will greatly affect their health. Lack of sleep and insufficient sleep lead to many serious diseases, such as depression and heart attack. For example, a software engineer in Vietnam has to work two jobs at the same time, working in IT during office hours and working as a designer at night. That led to a stroke in the middle of the night while they were finishing work. In addition, spending too much time at work will leave no time for relatives and family. This can lead to blurred family relationships and a lack of attention inherent in family relationships.

In conclusion, while there are some advantages to working overtime and having multiple jobs, it is evident that the downsides of this trend are also worth consideration.